Founded 1911

The Locomotive & Carriage Institution
Home Events Membership News Archive Merchandise Contact Us About us A to Z Index

From left to right back row (standing): Alan Spencer, Chairman; Brian Ashfield, Treasurer;  Jack Hart, Council Member;  John Barrett, Independent Financial Examiner;  Martin Cresswell,  Independent Financial Examiner; Bernard Tipping, Council Member and Peter Lindop, Membership Secretary;

From left to right front row (kneeling): Nick Agnew, President; Paul Gumbrell, Vice Chairman; Stuart Smith, Institution Secretary; Tom Chaffin, Website Manager and Brian Drummond, Council Member.

Taken at Yarwell on the Nene Valley Railway following the Centenary naming ceremony of GB Railfreight locomotive 66 716 "The Locomotive & Carriage Institution" 14th May 2011 (c) Photo: L&CI

The following were elected onto the Council at the AGM on Saturday 21st  May 2016:


John Doyle, Retired, former Deputy Director of Operations, Crossrail

Vice Presidents:

Nick Agnew, Retired, former  Contingency Planning Manager, Transport for London.

Mark Hopwood, Managing Director, Great Western Railway


Alan Spencer,

Vice Chairman:

Paul Gumbrell (Associate Member)

Membership Sec.:  

Peter Lindop, West Coast Traincare.

Membership Secretary, 35 Fairacres, RUISLIP, Middlesex, HA4 8AN

Existing members can also contact the Membership Secretary on this page: Change in Details

Institution Secretary

Malcolm Pym

84 St Marys Road, KETTERING, NN15 7BW

Assistant Secretary

Alan Hughes, Retired, formally Train Crew Supervisor, Working, South West Trains


Brian Ashfield, Retired, formally Railtrack Southern Zone.

6 Windrushes, CATERHAM, Surrey, CR3 6SP

Newsletter Editor:

Stuart Smith, Driver, First Great Western

22 Doidges Farm Close,  Eggbuckland, PLYMOUTH, Devon, PL5 5WF

Website Manager:

Tom Chaffin, Principal Programme Engineer, Telecoms, Thameslink Programme & Crossrail  ETCS, Network Rail,

Sales & Merchandise:

Martin Hilton, 33 Arnold Road, EASTLEIGH, Hampshire, SO50 5AR

Independent Financial Examiners:

John Barrett, Retired, formally British Rail InterCity &

Martin Cresswell, Amey.

Council Members:

Colin Brazier, Train Service Manager, South Eastern

Brian Drummond, Retired, formally Driver, Silverlink;

Gerald Waite

Bernie Tipping, Retired, formally Driver, South West Trains

Contact us.. The Locomotive & Carriage Institution Council

All correspondence relating to L&CI matters, should be sent directly to the Institution Secretary, Malcolm Pym.

The only exceptions are as follows:

Membership Applications - contact the Membership Secretary;

Items for inclusion in the Newsletter - contact the Newsletter Editor;

AGM Bookings  - contact the Treasurer.